Esports Awards 2018: All the winners listed

esports awards 2018 winners 1

The esports industry gathered last night for the third Esports Awards at The Brewery in London.

Hosted by Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere, Alex “Goldenboy” Mendez, Adam Savage and Lottie Van Praag, the night saw awards presented by industry stars including Trevor “Quickshot” Henry, Ali-A, Vikkstarr123, Frankie Ward and Two Angry Gamers.

More than 3.3m community votes were cast to determine the winners. Fortnite streamer Ninja and his millions of followers ensured he took home two awards: Personality of the Year and Streamer of the Year, the latter of which was won by Dr Disrespect at the Esports Awards last year. And Fortnite won Breakthrough Game of the Year.

Fnatic’s Belgian League of Legends top-laner Gabriël “Bwipo” Rau (pictured), meanwhile, was crowned Rookie of the Year (PC).

ESPN was awarded Coverage Website of the Year, while its leading journalist Jacob Wolf was handed the Journalist of the Year trophy.

Organisers said that more than 2m viewers tuned in live on Twitter to watch the 2018 Esports Awards, with 210,000 concurrent viewers across platforms. Stats are still being totalled on all broadcast platforms, including Twitch, YouTube Gaming and Mixer. Also to be confirmed is the viewership in partnership with the media distribution company who seeded the awards to 33 countries.

The full list of winners

  • Photographer of the Year – Helena Kristiansson
  • Videographer of the Year with – Hitch
  • Breakthrough Game of the Year – Fortnite
  • Streamer of the Year – Ninja
  • PC Player of the Year with Turtle Beach – S1mple
  • PC Rookie of the Year with Intel – Bwipo (Fnatic League of Legends top-laner, pictured)
  • Organisation of the Year with with Coutts & Co – Cloud 9
  • Team of the Year with – Astralis
  • Personality of the Year – Ninja
  • Play of the Year – Faze Attach
  • Coverage Website of the Year with Sizzle Creative – ESPN Esports
  • Supporting Agency of the Year- Evolved Talent Agency
  • Game of the Year – Overwatch
  • Commercial Partner of the Year – Intel
  • Journalist of the Year – Jacob Wolf (ESPN)
  • Hardware Provider of the Year – Nvidia
  • Publisher of the Year – Blizzard Entertainment
  • Streaming Platform of the Year – Twitch
  • Console Player of the Year with Scuf Gaming – MsDossary
  • Console Rookie of the Year – Kenny
  • Broadcaster of the Year with Blinkfire – Maven
  • Live Event of the Year with Touch of Ginger – Overwatch League Grand Finals
  • Unsung hero of the Year – Milos Nedeljikovic

The Esports Awards also announced a charitable partnership last night in conjunction with Movember to create a gaming fund for change. Industry leaders gathered to map out a blueprint for the project with details being announced in the coming months.

Guests on the night were asked to make donations to Movember and a silent auction was carried out featuring several items of traditional sports memorabilia.

“Gaming connects people together globally, and working in partnership with The Esports Awards, we can reach so many more people to push our message forward which helps save lives,” said Movember co-founder Justin Coghlan.

The Esports Awards 2018 were brought in partnership with Intel, Touch of Ginger, Twitch, Mixer, Twitter, London & Partners, H4X, Movember Foundation,, Turtle Beach, Sizzle Creative, Scuf Gaming and Swipe Right PR.

Check out Esports News UK for some video coverage from the event soon.
Image source: Michael Ashford/Esports Awards/Flickr

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments