ePremier League Invitational tournament kicks off this week, Sky Sports to air live final on TV

epremier league invitational

Professional footballers and musicians will take part in a special ePremier League (ePL) Invitational tournament this week.

They will represent the 20 Premier League football clubs in matches of FIFA 20.

The prize fund is being donated to the #PlayersTogether initiative, created by Premier League players to generate funds for the NHS.

It will be broadcast across the Premier League and Sky Sports online channels including YouTube and the Football Daily YouTube channel will also cover it.

Matches start from 12pm midday on Tuesday April 21st and will run through to Friday April 24th.

The semi-finals and final will be televised live on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Premier League in the UK at 3pm on Saturday April 25th.

Gfinity has been appointed to operate the inaugural ePremier League Invitational tournament. 

The tournament will include players such as Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Todd Cantwell (Norwich City), Ryan Fredericks (West Ham United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City) and Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace). 

John Clarke, CEO of Gfinity, said: “We are delighted to have been chosen by the Premier League to operate the ePL Invitational tournament, where we will see some of the top players battle it out for the virtual trophy.

“During these uncertain and challenging times, we are committed to working with sports rights holders, publishers and broadcasters to deliver new content and virtual formats.”

The draw is as follows (source):

Round 1, 21 April (from 12:00 BST)

1A John McGinn (AVL) v Neal Maupay (BHA)
1B Josh Franceschi (ARS) v Nathaniel Chalobah (WAT)
1C Dwight McNeil (BUR) v Ryan Fredericks (WHU)
1D Philip Billing (BOU) v Angus Gunn (SOU)

Last 16

22 April (from 12:00 BST)

2A Raheem Sterling (MCI) v Wilfried Zaha (CRY)
2B Tom Grennan (MUN) v Trent Alexander-Arnold (LIV)
2C Reece James (CHE) v Andre Gomes (EVE)
2D Moussa Sissoko (TOT) v Christian Atsu (NEW)

23 April (from 12:00 BST)

2E Diogo Jota (WOL) v Wilfred Ndidi (LEI)
2F Todd Cantwell (NOR) v Lys Mousset (SHU) 
2G Winner 1A v Winner 1D 
2H Winner 1B v Winner 1C

Quarter-finals, 24 April (from 12:00 BST)

QF1 Winner 2B v Winner 2D
QF2 Winner 2C v Winner 2A
QF3 Winner 2E v Winner 2F
QF4 Winner 2G v Winner 2H

Semi-finals/Final, 25 April (from 15:00 BST)

SF1 Winner QF1 v Winner QF2
SF2 Winner QF3 v Winner QF4
Final Winner SF1 v Winner SF2

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments