Twitch Uni Heroes Awards winners announced, Warwick Esports win Society of the Term after strong Winter performances

warwick esports winter 2020

University esports body the NUEL has announced the winners of its Twitch Uni Heroes Awards.

The awards, backed by Twitch Student/Amazon University Esports, saw a number of top student esports talent recognised.

And Warwick Esports, of the University of Warwick, capitalised on their award win, sending a press release out to Esports News UK about their triumphs.

They were in dominant form again during the winter term, opening up a commanding lead in the NSE (National Student Esports) championship and winning the NUEL (National University Esports League) Esports/Gaming Society of the Term.  

The NUEL’s Esports/Gaming Society of the Term is awarded to the university society that fields the teams with the most wins across their numerous tournaments and nets the winner a £1,000 cash prize.

On top of this victory, a Warwick student, Giniiro, earnt the title of Streamer of the Term.

Elsewhere, the NSE’s release of the BUEC (British University Esports Championship) standings on their website, confirms Warwick’s comfortable 580-point lead over their closest competitor, Staffordshire University.

A significant portion of these points was earnt by Warwick’s first teams, who consistently make playoffs in all game titles. Most notably, Warwick say they had the best teams in the country for Dota 2 and Valorant. 

Earlier this year, Warwick Esports was named NSE Esports University of the Year for second year in a row, and signed its first commercial partnership with HyperX.

President of Warwick Esports, Daniel Zeng, said. “Coming into this season, I was concerned about the competitiveness of the society after losing a lot of veteran players and coaches last year. It turns out I didn’t have to worry at all.” 

Going forwards, Warwick Esports saus it’s ‘committed to a continued push for excellence and helping foster success’ among their large member base.  

Other Twitch Uni Heroes Award winners

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments