Which UK teams are taking part in London's FIFA eClub World Cup?

shellzz man city 1

EA has revealed the 16 FIFA esports teams that have qualified for the eClub World Cup 2019 in London.
More than 150 teams participated in the online qualification rounds this month, with the 15 top teams joining reigning champions Brøndby IF. This is the only team to win the FIFA eClub World Cup so far by claiming the first place in the inaugural event in 2016 and in last year’s edition.
UK teams include Manchester City, Wolves, Imperial and NoFuchsGiven – the clothing brand and esports organisation founded by Leicester City footballer Christian Fuchs, who spoke at ESI London last year.
The full list of qualified teams for the tournament are as follows (with UK teams in bold):

  • AFC Ajax (Netherlands)
  • AlNassr FC (Saudi Arabia)
  • Brøndby IF (Denmark)
  • NoFuchsGiven eSports (England)
  • Dijon Football Côte-d’Or (France)
  • ECV eSports (Netherlands)
  • FaZe Clan (USA)
  • Futbolist (Turkey)
  • Imperial (England)
  • KiNG eSports (Germany)
  • Manchester City eSports (England)
  • Prime NINJA (Japan)
  • Team Vitality (France)
  • Tricked eSport (Denmark)
  • VFL Bochum 1848 (Germany)
  • Wolverhampton Wanderers FC (England)

Looking at the player rosters, Man City’s includes German Kai “Deto” Wollin and Brit Shaun “Shellzz” Springette (pictured, who previously played at UNILAD), while Wolves have Brit Torin “TheTurin27” Page and Brazilian Flávio Brito.
Looking at the Imperial, they have Brit Kylem Edwards and Maltese player Christian Spiteri. Finally, NoFuchsGiven have a larger squad, consisting of Singapore’s Wen Jun Chiang, Remi Thomas of England, Leicester-based Suyfaan Qasim and others, some of whom are currently on loan to other clubs.
The FIFA eClub World Cup will take place in London on the weekend of February 9th and 10th. It’s one of three esports events within the FIFA 19 Global Series.
Teams will compete for a prize pool of $100,000 and FIFA 19 Global Series Points on the Road to the FIFA eWorld Cup.
Last year the separate ePremier League was announced, with online qualifiers running this month.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments