Man City set new FIFAe Club World Cup qualifying record as sole UK team in the 2021 tournament

man city ryan pessoa shellz

Thanks to Jamie Hore for help with background information

English Premier League football club Manchester City have qualified for the FIFAe Club World Cup 2021, which is notably lacking other UK talent this year.

Manchester City Esports’ FIFA team consists of experienced British players Shaun ‘Shellzz’ Springette (pictured right) and Ryan Pessoa (left), who will be playing in the zone finals which run from February 24th to 28th 2021.

Man City have qualified for the FIFAe Club World Cup for a record four times now.

There are six zones in the FIFAe Club World Cup finals: Oceania, Asia, Africa and Middle East, North America, South America and Europe.

Man City are the only UK team in the finals, with other well-known names like Wolves, Fnatic, Tundra, Ellevens, West Ham, Burnley and others failing to qualify. Italian org Mkers also have a British player among them: Ethan ‘EthxnH’ Higgins.

However, it was harder for them to qualify this year, as The Loadout reports that FIFA organised the tournament, rather than EA, and made a change which saw the top 14 teams qualify instead of the usual top 28.

The full list of European sides are as follows:

  • Genoa Esports
  • Riders
  • RBLZ Gaming – RB Leipzig
  • Mkers
  • Team Gullit
  • Wisla All in Games Krakow
  • AC Monza Team Esports
  • Zeta Gaming
  • NOM eSport
  • Manchester City Esports
  • FC Schalke 04
  • Mav3ricks MM Gaming Club
  • Astralis

Teams in the FIFAe Club World Cup 2021 will be represented by two players who will compete for a total prize pool of $245,000. This is in addition to the $105,000 in prize money distributed after the online qualifiers.

Participants include football clubs and esports organisations.

You can see more info and the full list of qualified FIFAe Club World Cup teams on the FIFA website here.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments